Choosing What College to Attend

10/11/2018

When I was a senior in high school, I had to make a decision that would ultimately set me up for the rest of my life: Choosing the College I would spend my next four years at.
My story is much different than most high schoolers. I moved to Northern Kentucky my sophomore year of high school. It was a huge adjustment moving to a completely new location, but I had almost been used to it because it wasn't my first time going to a new school in a new state - this was my 8th new school I attended since the 4th grade.


When deciding where I wanted to go to college, I knew I didn't want to go anywhere too far away. This was mainly because I wanted to spend at least a few more years in the same area before moving again. After looking at the expenses of going to college, the location, and the programs offered, I decided to go to Northern Kentucky University. 

Unlike most college students, I didn't live in a dorm on campus; I lived at home with my parents. I didn't wake up and walk straight to my classes; I had to drive about 20 minutes to campus. When I talked to most people about my decision, they always ask if i regretted not having that 'college experience.' And to be completely honest, sometimes I do wonder if I missed out. But, looking back I am very happy with my decision for choosing NKU. 


I will be graduating this May (I cannot wait) with absolutely no student loans. I was in a sorority (now an alumni), Kappa Delta was truly the way I was able to get out on campus and get involved. Because I lived at home, I had no living expense. I was able to save money on food and the necessities because I did live with my parents. I worked multiple part time jobs and was able to save money throughout college. 


So, I didn't have that 'true college experience,' but I am so grateful for the memories that were made, the people I have met, and where I am financially. Don't get me wrong - Money is not everything. If it is possible for you to go away to college and you want to have the experience - do it. But, do not base your decision on what the 'normal thing' is. Do what is best for you!

Home decor © All rights reserved 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started